Mycroft — A Privacy-Focused Open Source Virtual Assistant Review

Browsing Through Life
5 min readAug 18, 2021

You can read this post for free at Browsing Through Life. Visit the blog for more posts like this!

Voice assistants offered by Amazon, Google, and Apple allow you to perform many operations like searching, setting reminders, and checking the weather with a voice command. However, these companies are not known for respecting the privacy of its users, which is a concern that people have when using these products. On the other hand, some people would like to be able to customize their voice assistant and add more capabilities to it.

Mycroft is the open source alternative to these assistants. It is an open source assistant that you can install on a device like a Raspberry Pi. I was interested in buying a Raspberry Pi a few weeks ago, but I was not sure what I wanted to use it for. When I came across this project, I was glad I found this project and immediately became interested in making my own voice assistant. With the software provided, it is simply a matter of installing and configuring it.

Installation

Installing Mycroft was an easy process. I tried it out on my computer first and cloned the project’s repository onto my computer. Then, I navigated into the directory and ran the shell script. The script then walked me through the installation process…

--

--

Browsing Through Life

I write and review about resources that people can use on the internet to improve their lives. Find my blog at https//browsingthroughlife.com